Yay! I have a Title

So as many of you know I struggled to give my latest story a Title it deserved. Thanks to my wonderful Editor, Ryan’s story now has a Title, a gorgeous Cover and a Release Date!

Coming October 10, 2014, From Rebel Ink Press, 

Office Hours-flat 

Unedited Excerpt

Watching the black F-350 pull up behind her battered Toyota, Emily frowned. Of course the owner of a construction company would drive a big truck. But his looked like it just drove out of the show room, not a construction site.

She watched him get out and her stomach jittered. He really was something to look at. The thick brown hair being blown by the wind from the passing cars was so sexy. And the tall, well-toned body striding toward her made her…a fool. What had she been thinking calling Lisa for help? True she’d been secretly hoping Lisa’d send Ryan, but what the hell’d she expect him to do for her? She had no tire for him to change, two dollars and some cents in her wallet, and all her credit cards were maxed-out. She was pathetic and soon her boss would know it.

She’d ask him take her home. She’d just leave her dying ride on the side of the road to be hauled off like the garbage it was. The city would call her to come get it. They’d expect her to pay the towing and storage fee but she’d just ignore them and hope they didn’t throw her in jail…

“Give me your keys,” Ryan held out his hand.

Emily blinked. “Why?”

“So I can open the trunk and get the spare. You have a jack, right?” Emily only stared at him. “If you don’t trust me, you can open it yourself.”

Uh Oh. He seemed cranky. “Look,” Emily began. “I shouldn’t have called your sister. I…I don’t know what I was thinking. I don’t have a jack…or a spare tire either. I…I just…” She threw her hands up. “I’m sorry I bothered you.”

“Do you have road side assistance?” Emily shook her head. “Okay, without a spare we’ll need to call a tow truck. They can take it to your mechanic, or a tire shop. I’ll take you home after the party then take you to get it fixed in the morning.”

When he pulled out his phone, Emily shook her head again. “No.”

“No?” He echoed. “You have a better idea?”

“I can’t pay for a tow truck,” she admitted. “If I could I wouldn’t have panicked and called your sister.”

Emily watched him inspect the remaining bald tires. From the way he frowned, she bet he’d figured out she couldn’t afford a new tire either.

She watched him run his fingers through his hair before extracting his AAA card from his wallet. “We can’t just leave it here.” He gestured to the car. “I’ll use my card for the towing. In the morning I’ll go to the tire shop and take care of the tires. Once I get the bill we’ll set up an affordable payment to be deducted from your paycheck.”

“No.”

“You like that word, don’tcha?” He started dialing.

Why couldn’t he just give her a ride home and leave her car on the side of the freeway to be towed to the wrecking yard where it belonged? Tires were only the beginning. She didn’t want to spend hundreds of dollars on them only to have something else go wrong next week.

“You aren’t planning on quitting soon, are you?”

She didn’t like his question. Was he expecting her to quit? “Why would I?”

Ryan shrugged. “You’ve been there two weeks now. Do you think it’s a job you can handle?”

Emily placed her hands on her hips. “Of course I can handle it. If you bothered to come out of your office for more than two minutes at a time you’d know I’m handling it just fine.”

“Good. Then you’ll be there long enough to earn the tires. Face it,” he said when she opened her mouth. “You need help…”

Who the hell did he think he was? Emily exploded, “Help? You think you’re the only one who can help me? I’d rather walk than accept your help.” To prove her point she turned. Opening her car door, she grabbed her purse off the seat and started to walk away.

Ryan stood admiring her long legs and firm butt until he saw a Highway Patrol car pull in behind his truck. Quickly catching up with Emily he grabbed her arm.

His touch triggered a jolt of lust. When he spun her to face him his voice was low. “We have company.” Emily frowned at the cop car. Not letting go of her arm, Ryan said, “Now, two things can happen here. We can tell him everything’s under control and we’re just waiting for the tow truck or, I can be a jerk and say Thank God you’re here officer. I was just trying to be a good citizen here but the lady’s made it quite clear she doesn’t need my help. I’ll get in my truck and go back to the party. You?” Glancing at the officer getting out of his car, he shrugged. “What’s it going to be Emily? Him or me?”

 

We first met Ryan in Revelations From the Past  From his first scene he begged me to give him his own story…What could I do?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00J0E60OW

 

 

And Please don’t forget to vote for me and my fellow Rebel Joanne Berroa in the cover contest! They are choosing first, second and third place. We’d like to end up in the top 3
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fgoldenboxbooks.blogspot.com%2Fp%2Fbook-cover-contest.html&h=KAQGZZg_7
cropped-blacknight_cover.jpg

Leave a Reply

